2016/17 Sheffield Shield Round Up 4

Queensland v Western Australia, Riverside Stadium, Townsville.

Queensland took the game on the road to Far North Queensland and made 4 changes. Leg spinner Mtich Swepson returned at the expense of Jason Floros and Mick Neser replaced Luke Feldman. The batting order was reworked with Charlie Hemphrey recalled to open and Sam Truloff placed at number 4 for his first class debut.

For Western Australia Adam Voges was omitted due to concussion. Mitch Marsh (batting at no 4), Ashton Agar and David Moody all returned from shoulder complaints.

Queensland batted first and managed 422 thanks to a collection of half centuries to Joe Burns, Marnus Labushagne, Jack Wildermuth and Mick Neser.

In reply WA declared 62 runs behind at 6/340 with opener Cameron Bancroft making 103 and Ashton Turner 84.

Queensland were looking for quick runs to set up a decleration but it wasn’t unitl the 6th wicket pair of keeper Chris Hartley (53 off 59 balls) and Mick Nesser that the runs started flowing. Neser hit 53 off 44 balls with 8 fours and 1 six. Queensland drew their innings to a close at 6/252 setting WA a victory target of 355.

Mitch Marsh was the pick of the WA bowlers with 4/38 off 11 overs.

WA were looking well placed in their pursuit of victory at 4/221 but then Michael Klinger fell and the tail subsided rapidly to be all out for 237 and hand Queensland a 97 run victory. Jason Behrendorf could not bat for the Warriors due to leg stress fractures.

Ben Cutting and Mitch Swepson took 3 wickets each for the Bulls and Western Australia remain winless after 4 matches.


Queensland 7.96

Western Australia 1.45


Victoria v South Australia, MCG

Victoria recalled John Hastings in place of Dan Christian, and reorganised their batting order with Glen Maxwell at 4, Aaron Finch at 5 and Cameron White at 6. 19 year old Sam Harper took the gloves for his third match for the Bushrangers.

South Australia welcomed back Joe Mennie and were otherwise unchanged.

Cameron White  won the toss and sent South Australia into bat. This decision wasn’t looking great at the end of Day 1 with the Redbacks on 5/360. Travis Head made 130 off 188 balls and Tom Cooper 93.

Day 2 started with the Vics cleaning up the the remaining 5 Redback wickets for the addition of just 45 runs. However they struggled with the bat slumping to 5/137 before Aaron Finch made his first Shield century for Victoria in 5 years and was ably assisted by Sam Harper who made 80. The tail wagged for the Vics with numbers 9, 10, 11 making 20, 30 and 28 respectively. The Bushrangers innings ended at 367, the last 5 wickets had added 230 runs.

South Australia’s second innings fell apart in a 4 over period where they lost a wicket each over – 2 to Marcus Stoinis and 2 to John Holland – to slip from 3/107 to 7/117. The Redbacks were eventually dismissed for 162 a lead of 200. Jon Holland claimed another 4 wicket haul, 4/25 including 3 bowled.

Victoria’s pursuit for 201 for victory was looking shaky at 4/103 but Cameron White steered the Bushrangers home with 40 not out.


Victoria 8.11

South Australia 2.6


Tasmania v New South Wales, Bellerive Oval

For Tasmania, Alex Doolan, was ruled out due to concussion and replaced by Ben McDermott. Sam Rainbird was recalled for Jackson Bird.

New South Wales had a host of changes with Ed Cowan, Peter Neville and Ryan Gibson returning. Off spinner Will Somerville replaced the injured Steve O’Keefe and paceman Harry Conway completed the XI.

George Bailey won the toss and sent NSW in to bat. The Blues made the most of the opportunity running up 5 declared for 495 with Moises Henriques making a century, Peter Neville making 179* and second gamer Ryan Gibson making 65* bringing up his half century with a reverse sweep.

In reply Tasmania were ripped apart by Trent Copeland who took 6/54 as the Tigers were all out for 209. New South Wales decide to bat again and made 1/128 in quick time, nearly 5 an over, to set Tassie an unlikely 415 for victory.

The Tigers slipped to 4/81 in the 33rd over with Copeland dismissing both openers. However Beau Webster (80 off 214 balls) and James Faulkner (100 of 222 balls) showed they were made of sterner stuff batting unbroken for 72 overs to secure Tasmania a draw. It was Faulkner’s maiden Shield century, his second first class century following a hundred in county cricket this winter..

New South Wales will be disappointed not to close out a victory in a game they bossed for large parts. They may rue their decision not to enforce the follow on. To add to the Blues frustration skipper Moises Henriques suffered a side strain whilst bowling. With 8 overs remaining in the days play Henriques offered to the batsmen to call the game off as a draw. They refused and Henriques continued to bowl and injured himself.


New South Wales 2.86

Tasmania 1.37


Points table

Victoria 4 4 0 0 0 0 33.39
South Australia 4 2 2 0 0 0 22.27
New South Wales 4 2 1 0 1 0 19.26
Queensland 4 2 2 0 0 0 19.09
Tasmania 4 1 2 0 1 0 11.02
Western Australia 4 0 4 0 0 0 5.34

Leading run scorer

Player Matches Innings Runs Average 100 50
Marcus Harris (Victoria) 4 7 409 68.16 1 3
George Bailey (Tasmania) 4 8 376 62.66 1 2
Kurtis Patterson (New South Wales) 4 8 375 53.57 1 3
Peter Handscomb (Victoria) 3 4 363 90.75 1 2
Travis Head (South Australia) 4 6 362 60.33 1 2
Tom Cooper (South Australia) 4 6 352 58.66 1 2

Leading wicket taker

Player Matches Innings Wickets Average Economy
Chris Tremain (Victoria) 4 8 21 15.95 2.53
Chadd Sayers (South Australia) 4 8 21 21.23 2.79
Jon Holland (Victoria) 4 8 20 18.9 2.8
Scott Boland (Victoria) 4 8 17 24.94 3.05
Ashton Agar (Western Australia) 3 6 16 23.87 3.1
Jason Behrendorff (Western Australia) 4 7 14 23.14 2.92


Futures League

Wollongong hosted the NSW v ACT match. Pat Cummins was in action again bowling 30 overs across the two innings as NSW slumped to defeat.

Peter Forrest and keeper Jimmy Peirson made centuries as Queensland defeated South Australia at AB Field. Harry Neilsen made a hundred for South Australia.

Western Australia sent Cameron Bancroft back to the 2nd XI for the first innings of this match, he made. Tasmania won thanks to 99 to Tim Paine and 7 wickets to former Fitzroy-Doncaster cricketer, Andrew Perrin.

Futures League will now take a two month break until January 23.


The XI

1. Cameron Bancroft (Western Australia)

2. Jake Weatherald (South Australia)

3.  Travis Head (South Australia)

4. Moises Henriques (New South Wales)

5. Aaron Finch (Victoria)

6. Peter Neville (New South Wales)

7. James Faulkner (Tasmania)

8. Joe Mennie (South Australia)

9. Trent Copeland (New South Wales)

10. Jon Holland (Victoria)

11. Chris Tremain (Victoria)




The round ahead

Pink ball, day night round starting Monday December 5th

South Australia v New South Wales, Adelaide Oval

Tasmania v Victoria, Bellerive

Western Australia v Queensland, WACA





Published by

Ross Slater

Blogging about the important things - AFL and cricket

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s