2015/16 Sheffield Shield Round Up 7

The results

A pink ball day/night round of Sheffield Shield cricket.

South Australia v Victoria, Adelaide Oval

Victoria regained the services of Glen Maxwell and Matthew Wade at the expense of Sam Harper and Cameron White. South Australia welcomed back Adam Zampa and handed a debut to right arm paceman Cameron Valente.

Victoria batted first and managed 325 thanks to half centuries to the Big Show (79 off 78 balls) and Travis Dean. In reply South Australia were all out for 224 with Scott Boland taking 5/38.

Victoria set about building its lead in the second innings. A fine century to Peter Handscomb and Glenn Maxwell’s 63 allowed the Bushrangers to declare at 5/306 and set South Australia a victory target of 408.

The Redbacks were never in the hunt with Scott Boland taking another 3 wickets but it was Fawad Ahmed who did the real damage taking 5/24 off 12 overs. Only Travis Head provided a semblance of resistance with a half century as the Redbacks subsided for 189 all out.


Victoria 8.75

South Australia 1.74


Western Australia v New South Wales, WACA

New South Wales replaced Peter Neville and Nathan Lyon with Ryan Carters and Steve O’Keefe. Ed Cowan missed due to a blow to the helmet last match, Nick Larkin opened the batting in his place.

Western Australia omitted Nathan Rimmington and recalled Ashton Agar. Forgotten opener Marcus Harris was given an opportunity batting at number 4, replacing Adam Voges.

New South Wales batted first and were ably led by a century to opener Daniel Hughes and a patient 79 to Ben Rhorer on their way to 316. Best for the Warriors was Joel Paris with 4/61.

In reply Western Australia managed 8/511 (declared) thanks to 144 to Cameron Bancroft, 120 to the recalled Marcus Harris and 96 to Ashton Turner. Bancroft fell to the very occasional bowling of Ben Rhorer – just his 5th first class wicket, the other 4 all came in one innings.

Facing a first innings deficit of nearly 200, the Blues aim was survival. A mature innings of 129* off 289 balls from number 3 Kurtis Patterson helped New South Wales salvage a draw.


Western Australia 2.86

New South Wales 1.94


Queensland v Tasmania, Gabba

For Tasmania, George Bailey returned as skipper, replacing Alex Doolan as captain and in the batting line up. Jackson Bird was replaced by Hamish Kingston and Clive Rose was omitted, replaced by Evan Gulbis. For Queensland, Mick Nesser and Joe Burns were replaced by Mark Stekete and Marnus Labuschagne.

Tasmania batted first and were dismissed for 300 with Beau Webster impressing with his second century in as many matches, making 106 at number 3. Best bowlers for the Bulls were Peter George and Jack Wildermuth with 3 wickets each.

In reply Queensland were in a spot of trouble at 6/209. Enter James Hopes. The veteran smashed 94 off 60 balls including 16 fours. His batting partner Chris Hartley played the more restrained role finishing on 70* as the Bulls were all out for 376 a first innings lead of 76. The Tigers best bowlers were Andrew Fekete and Beau Webster with 3 wickets apiece.

Tasmania’s second innings was not pretty reading with the top 7 batsmen all getting starts (except skipper Bailey) but only wicket keeper Tom Triffit making a half century. The Tigers were all out for 233, Jack Wildermuth chipped in with another 3 wickets. George Bailey had a tough return match – 0 and 5.

This left Queensland needing 158 for victory and they were guided to the target by 79 not out to Chris Hemphrey.



Queensland 9.23

Tasmania 2.39


The points table

Victoria                      44.62
Queensland               36.98
South Australia        30.39
New South Wales     28.31
Western Australia    26.55
Tasmania                    14.68



The Shield final

Recently all states were asked to submit their preferred venue should they host the Shield final. Western Australia, Queensland and Tasmania nominated their main ground but South Australia nominated Glenelg Oval in Adelaide, Victoria nominated Traegar Park in Alice Springs and New South Wales venue is yet to be determined but Coffs Harbour is being investigated.

If the Shield final is to remain then it needs to have a fixed venue – for example Manuka Oval in Canberra or Traegar Park in Alice Springs.

As a footnote Victoria’s final round match against New South Wales starting on March 15 has been moved from the MCG to Traegar Park in Alice Springs.


The XI

1. Cameron Bancroft (Western Australia)

2. Daniel Hughes (New South Wales)

3. Kurtis Patterson (New South Wales)

4. Peter Handscomb (Victoria)

5. Marcus Harris (Western Australia)

6. Beau Webster (Tasmania)

7. Chris Hartley (Queensland)

8. James Hopes (Queensland)

9. Scott Boland (Victoria)

10. Joel Paris (Western Australia)

11. Fawad Ahmed (Victoria)


The round ahead

New South Wales v South Australia, Coffs Harbour

Tasmania v Victoria, Bellerive Oval

Western Australia v Queensland, WACA



Published by

Ross Slater

Blogging about the important things - AFL and cricket

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s